Radiation Safety Committee

The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) ensures that the University is in compliance with radiation safety regulations issued by Federal and State agencies and with University policies. The RSC establishes radiation protection policies; and provides direction to the Radiation Safety Officer (RSO) on radiation safety matters. The RSC reviews the ionizing radiation safety program for radiation sources at the University. Instances of alleged program infraction are reviewed with the RSO and the responsible individuals. According to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), the RSC is the local authority having jurisdiction over ionizing radiation sources and activities at all University of Connecticut campuses with the exception of the Health Center, which has its own operational program.

The Radiation Safety Committee (RSC) members are appointed by University Administration and include representatives of the UConn radiation research community, in addition to representation from the University’s Administration.  The Radiation Safety Officer is a member of the Committee.  Members are appointed for a three-year term and may be reappointed. The Chairperson is elected by a majority of the Committee members for a three-year term.  The Committee shall meet at least four times each year.


Nathan Alder, Chair Professor, Molecular & Cell Biology
Ext: 5154

U-Box: U-3125

Ashis Basu Professor, Chemistry
Ext: 3965

U-Box: U-3060

Amy Courchesne Radiation Safety Officer and Manager, Environmental Health and Safety
Ext: 5399

U-Box: U-4097

Brent Lewchik (ex officio) Director, Environmental Health and Safety
Ext: 4927

U-Box: U-4097

Xiuling Lu, Vice Chair Professor, Pharmaceutical Science
Ext: 0517

U-Box: U-3092

James Mahoney Executive Program Director, CT Transportation Institute
Ext: 9299

U-Box: U-5202

Daniela Morales Assistant Research Professor, Materials Science Institute
Ext: 1824

U-Box: U-3136

Rachel O'Neill Director & Professor, Systems Genomics Institute
Ext: 6031

U-Box: U-1131

Michael Centola (ex-officio) Associate Vice President for Research Integrity

U-Box: U-1006

Karen More (ex officio) Director, Research Compliance

U-Box: U-1246

Cindy Hall, Committee Secretary Administrative Services Specialist, Environmental Health and Safety
Ext: 1105

U-Box: U-4097